Car accident lawyers in California are making the argument that a person has been charged with felony murder or manslaughter if the victim was killed while driving the car.
The state’s new law allows prosecutors to bring felony murder charges against drivers who are charged with reckless driving.
A law passed last year requires car accident lawyers to obtain a driver’s license, a test and a background check.
The law does not specifically apply to the people who get hit by cars.
Some say it could open the door to a new generation of car crash lawyers.
“There’s a growing segment of the profession that are taking it upon themselves to defend car accident victims,” said attorney Scott S. Sosnick, a former police officer in New Jersey who is now a clinical associate professor of law at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
“And it’s only going to get worse in the years to come.”
A few years ago, a car accident lawyer in California was arrested for murder and manslaughter.
He was later released without being charged.
“It is a tragedy for the victims and their families,” said Steven F. Mancuso, a retired criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles.
“The laws that exist for car accident defense do not protect the driver or the family.”
The state of California recently passed a law that makes it easier for people who kill others to obtain criminal records.
The bill also creates a public defender program that offers more resources to help defend car crash victims.
Lawyers who represent victims of car accidents are not required to obtain licenses or to take a driving test.
However, if the driver is charged with a felony crime, lawyers must get a license and submit a background test.
It is up to the prosecutor to decide whether the defendant can get a felony conviction.
Prosecutors have said they want to try people accused of reckless driving for felony murder because they have a “higher propensity” to commit the crime.
A person who is charged as a felony will have a record that could be used against them in future cases.
But the new law does include a provision that makes that requirement optional.
A prosecutor can choose not to charge the driver for any felony charge.
If the driver was not convicted of a felony charge and is now facing a felony charges, the law will allow them to plead guilty to a misdemeanor charge, which would allow them not to have to take the test or get a driver license.
Some car accident law lawyers say the bill is too vague and will be difficult to enforce.
“I think that’s a good thing,” said lawyer Stephen F. Kuczmarski, who specializes in car accident cases.
“If they can’t say, ‘Hey, this is a felony,’ it’s hard to prove beyond a reasonable doubt.”
The new law applies to drivers who have had at least one previous traffic offense or a traffic-related traffic violation.
In California, a driver convicted of felony murder could face up to five years in prison.
Prosecutors can choose to try only a misdemeanor conviction.
A driver convicted on felony charges could face between 10 and 20 years in jail.
That could mean a life sentence for a person who was killed in a car crash.
If a person is convicted of murder, a judge can also order them to undergo a psychological evaluation and take a drug test.
People convicted of manslaughter, however, would face only up to 10 years in state prison.
But it could take several years for a prosecutor to reach a verdict on manslaughter charges.
Sotosnick says it is possible that people who have a history of mental illness or are otherwise unfit could get a second chance to prove their innocence.
“In a lot of cases, people who are criminally insane may be a lot more dangerous than a person on the street who is a lot less dangerous,” Sosnik said.
“But it’s very hard to tell who is going to be more dangerous and who is not.”